

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning

25-085

25-086

STP PROJECT SELECTION COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES - DRAFT

Thursday, April 3, 2025

9:30 AM

1.0 Call To Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:32 a.m. by Chair Dobbs.

Present: Kama Dobbs, Grant Davis, Jeffrey Sriver, and Anne Zhang

Absent: Mark Kuchler, Leon Rockingham, and Jeffery Schielke

Non-Voting: Jon Paul Diipla, Heather Mullins, and Chad Riddle

Absent (NV): Mark Kane

Tara Orbon, representing the counties as a non-voting member, was participating in the meeting remotely and was recognized by Chair Dobbs.

Staff Present: Teri Dixon, Doug Ferguson, Jon Haadsma, Richard Norwood, Russell Pietrowiak, George Rivera, Mike Sobczak, Sarah Stolpe

Others Present: Eric Czarnota, Dawn Dina, Drew Duffin, Laura Fedak, Mike Fricano, Kendra Johnson, John Paul Jones, George Kandathil, Angela King-Ramsey, Gretchen Klock, Matthew Krause, Brian Larson, Heidi Lichtenberger, Brittany Matyas, Tara Orbon, Matt Pasquini, Leslie Rauer, Tom Rickert, Dan Schug, Michael Sewall, Megan Swanson, Daniel Thomas, Jon Vana

2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements

There were no changes to the agenda or announcements.

3.0 Approval of Minutes

3.01 Draft meeting minutes from March 11, 2025

Attachments: PSCMeetingMinutes 031125

A motion to approve the minutes of March 11, 2025, as presented, was made by Grant Davis, seconded by Anne Zhang. The motion carried by a voice vote.

4.0 Active Program Management Reports

4.01 Shared Fund Status Updates

Attachments: FFY25-29 STP-SF Active Program

FFY25-29 STP-SF Contingency Program

Jon Haadsma provided an update on the shared fund. Mr. Haadsma noted that the North Aurora Road project made it onto the April letting with \$20.1 million being authorized for the project, bringing the total shared fund obligated amount to \$20.2 million. The shared fund had \$32 million in carryover funds which had a March 31, 2025, expiration date. Since \$11.8 million was not used by the expiration date, those funds were transferred to the regional redistribution fund. Lastly, Mr. Haadsma

Page 1 of 3

noted that Streamwood's IL 59 Bicycle and Pedestrian Overpass project was conditionally approved for an additional \$289 thousand to bring the total conditionally approved amount to \$3,586,750.

4.02 Regional Accounting Update

Attachments: <u>STP Accounting 04032025</u>

Mr. Haadsma provided an update on the regional accounting, noting that the region has obligated \$89.9 million for FFY 2025. Central Council and Kane/Kendall Council have used their entire STP mark and will be drawing from the redistribution fund for the remainder of the year.

5.0 Staff Recommended FFY 2026 - 2030 STP Shared Fund Active and Contingency Programs for Public Comment

Attachments:STP-SF 26-30 Program Development-Staff Recomend Active ProgramSTP-SF 26-30 Program Development-Staff Recomend Contigency ProgramSTP-SF 26-30 Program Development-Staff Recomend Program BuilderSTP-SF 26-30 Program Development-Staff Recomend Program BuilderSTP-SF 26-30 Program Development-Staff Recomend Program Builder

Doug Ferguson presented the staff recommended STP shared fund active and contingency programs, noting that four new projects are being recommended for funding and two existing projects are being recommended for increases. In total, the six projects being requested for funding make up \$64. 8 million in new funding. Mr. Ferguson indicated that the next step in the process is for the programs to be released for public comment until May 2, 2025.

Grant Davis expressed concern over programming phase 2 engineering and construction in back to back years on the State Street reconstruction project, and suggested encouraging the sponsor to be ready to use the funding. Mr. Ferguson shared that staff plans to speak with Calumet City to discuss the project and address these concerns.

Heather Mullins expressed disappointment that no transit projects were recommended for funding, and was curious about the decision making process. Additionally, Ms. Mullins indicated that the selection criteria might need to be adjusted to make transit projects more competitive or for there to be a set aside in the program for transit projects. Mr. Ferguson pointed out that transit projects were heavily represented in the CMAQ program and when looking across all CMAP-programmed funding sources, that transit projects have a large share of funding. Chair Dobbs also noted that the committee can review the selection criteria to evaluate why transit projects aren't bubbling up to the top and to see if there are ways to make transit projects more competitive for the next funding cycle.

A motion to release the proposed active and contingency programs for public comment until May 2, 2025, was made by Grant Davis, and seconded by Anne Zhang. The motion carried by a voice vote.

6.0 Other Business

Chair Dobbs welcomed back Jon Paul Diipla to the Chicago FHWA office and to the STP Project Selection Committee.

7.0 Public Comment

Angela King from the CTA expressed her disappointment that the Irving Park All Stations Accessibility project was not selected for at least partial funding. Chair Dobbs clarified that the application asks what the minimum funding the sponsor would accept, and that the CTA indicated they would not accept anything other than the full amount. There was not enough funding availability to award full funding to the project, which is why it was skipped for funding.

<u>25-087</u>

25-078

Jon Paul Jones, of Grow Greater Englewood, commented on the need for non-governmental organizations to be able to engage with the appropriate government agencies to make sure supported projects are prioritized. Additionally, Mr. Jones indicated that giving small amounts of funding to projects is a way for the region to show that the region cares about the project, and provides traction for a project to secure remaining funding for a project to get implemented.

8.0 Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for May 15, 2025.

9.0 Adjournment

A motion was made by Grant Davis, seconded by Jeffrey Sriver to adjourn the meeting at 9:56 a.m. The motion carried by a voice vote.

Minutes prepared by Jon Haadsma.