

MPO POLICY NOMINATING SUBCOMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES - DRAFT

Friday, September 13, 2024 11:00 AM

Will County Conference Room 433 West Van Buren Street, Suite 450 Chicago, IL 60607

Members of the public who attend in-person can pre-register for a visitor's pass at info@cmap.illinois.gov until Thursday, September 12 at 4:00 p.m. or should plan to arrive early to check-in with the building's information desk for access.

You can also join from your computer, tablet or smartphone. https://us06web.zoom.us/j/81760893870?pwd=JLsnOeOLSkWbYwp6pC8tpxQ0rfujo5.1

CMAP provides the opportunity for public comment. Individuals are encouraged to submit comment by email to info@cmap.illinois.gov at least 24 hours before the meeting. A record of all written public comments will be maintained and made publicly available.

The total cumulative time for public comment is limited to 15 minutes, unless determined otherwise by the Chair. Public comment is limited to three minutes per person unless the Chair designates a longer or shorter time period. Public comments will be invited in this order: Comments from in person attendees submitted ahead of time; comments from in-person attendees not previously submitted; comments from virtual attendees not previously submitted.

To review CMAP's public participation policy, please visit https://www.cmap.illinois.gov/committees.

If you require a reasonable accommodation or language interpretation services to attend or join the meeting, please contact CMAP at least five days before the meeting by email (info@cmap.illinois.gov) or phone (312-454-0400).

1.0 Call To Order

Aimee Lee, Research, Analysis and Programming Deputy, called the meeting to order.

Present: CoM Representative, McHenry Co Representative, RTA Representative, and CDOT

Representative

Absent: CMAP Representative

Jeff Schielke served as CoM Representative, Scott Hennings served as McHenry Co Representative, David Powe served as CDOT Representative, and Kyle Whitehead served as RTA Representative.

Staff present: Teri Dixon, Aimee Lee, Blanca Vela-Schneider

2.0 Approval of Minutes

2.01 Minutes from September 13, 2023

24-388

Attachments: MPO Nominating Subcommittee minutes - 09.13.23

A motion was made by CoM Representative Jeff Schielke, seconded by RTA Representative Kyle Whitehead, to approve the September 13, 2023 meeting minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: CoM Representative, McHenry Co Representative, RTA Representative, and CDOT

Representative

Absent: CMAP Representative

3.0 New Business

3.01 Nomination of the Office of Vice-Chair of the MPO Policy Committee

24-381

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>Memorandum for nomination of Vice-Chair</u>

Aimee Lee, Research Analysis and Programming Deputy, reported that Jennifer "Sis" Killen has served two consecutive one-year terms as is customary for the vice-chair of the MPO Policy Committee. For calendar year 2025, staff has recommended that Cassaundra Rouse, Executive Director of the Illinois Tollway, serve as vice-chair.

A motion was made by CoM Representative Jeff Schielke, seconded by McHenry Co Representative Scott Hennings, to nominate Cassaundra Rouse, Executive Director of the Illinois Tollway, to the MPO Policy Committee for the vice-chair position for calendar year 2025.

A motion was made by RTA Representative Kyle Whitehead to nominate Jim Derwinski, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Metra, to the MPO Policy Committee for the vice-chair position for calendar year 2025. He indicated that Mr. Derwinski would be best suited to serve the MPO Policy Committee as vice-chair due to Metra's ongoing transition to a regional rail model and his leadership as transit agencies face a financial fiscal cliff.

Discussion ensued regarding the need to ensure there is need for someone who can demonstrate impartiality related to the programming of federal funds, the need for someone to understand what transit agencies are experiencing, and the need to have a balanced representation of vice-chairs.

A motion was made by CoM Representative Jeff Schielke, seconded by McHenry Co Representative Scott Hennings, to submit the name of Cassaundra Rouse as the nominee for vice-chair to the MPO Policy Committee for calendar year 2025. The motion carried by the following roll call vote:

Aye: CoM Representative, McHenry Co Representative, and CDOT Representative

Nay: RTA Representative

Absent: CMAP Representative

4.0 Other Business

There was no other business before the committee.

5.0 Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

6.0 Next Meeting; To be determined

Thge next meeting will be scheduled in 2025.

7.0 Adjournment

A motion was made by CoM Representative Jeff Schielke, seconded by RTA Representative Kyle Whitehead, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: CoM Representative, McHenry Co Representative, RTA Representative, and CDOT

Representative

Absent: CMAP Representative

The meeting was adjourned at 11:09 a.m.

Minutes prepared by Blanca Vela-Schneider.