

PART STEERING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES - DRAFT

Wednesday, March 15, 2023

9:00 AM

Please click the link below to join the webinar meeting:

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/89254738182

Members of the public attending the meeting in person should pre-register for a visitor's pass at info@cmap.illinois.gov before Tuesday, March 14, 2023 at 4:00 p.m., or plan to arrive early to check-in with the building's information desk for access.

1.0 Call To Order

Erin Aleman welcomed the committee members and conducted roll call.

 Present: MarySue Barrett, Randy Blankenhorn, Carole Brown, Deborah Carroll, Kevin Considine, Dan Cronin, Mark Denzler, Derek Douglas, Jacky Grimshaw, Julie Hamos, Robb Karr, Jack Lavin, David Leopold, Juan Carlos Linares, Tom Livingston, Justin Marlowe, Laurence Msall, David Narefsky, Jorge Perez, Doug Pryer, Bob Reiter, Roberto Requejo, Amy Rynell, Stephen Schlickman, and Jen Walling
Absent: Darlene Hightower, and Karen Tamley

Absent. Danche fightower, and karen famey

CMAP Staff: Sema Abulhab, Erin Aleman, Bill Barnes, John Carpenter, Daniel Comeaux, Gilton Cross, Stephen DiBenedetto, Kasia Hart, Tricia Hyland, Almee Lee, Amy McEwan, Martin Menninger, Nikolas Merten, Julie Reschke, Elizabeth Scott, Leo Torres, Jennie Vana, Blanca Vela-Schneider, Laura Wilkison, and Alonzo Zamarron

Others present (in person/online): Steven Brown, Bob Dean, Jeremy Fine, Donovan Griffith, Tom Kotarac, Phillip Plotch, Chauncey Rice, Dany Robles, Nora Ryan, Audrey Wennink

2.0 Approval of Minutes

2.01 Approval of the minutes from January 18, 2023

<u>23-147</u>

Attachments: PART 1.18.23 Minutes

A motion was made by Doug Pryor, seconded by Carole Brown, that the January 18, 2023 minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye:MarySue Barrett, Randy Blankenhorn, Carole Brown, Deborah Carroll, Kevin Considine,
Dan Cronin, Mark Denzler, Derek Douglas, Jacky Grimshaw, Julie Hamos, Robb Karr,
Jack Lavin, David Leopold, Juan Carlos Linares, Tom Livingston, Justin Marlowe,
Laurence Msall, David Narefsky, Jorge Perez, Doug Pryer, Bob Reiter, Roberto Requejo,
Amy Rynell, Stephen Schlickman, and Jen WallingAlexadeDadage Wickles and Marce Tarala
- Absent: Darlene Hightower, and Karen Tamley

3.0 New Business

3.01 Outreach, Analysis, and Input update

Erin Aleman gave a brief presentation reiterating the value that transit has in the region and the cost that inaction would have on mobility, economic development, and the climate. Aleman highlighted the wide array of stakeholders CMAP is engaging with as part of this process and reminded the committee members of the principles that will guide the report's recommendations.

An update was provided.

3.02 The System We Want

Daniel Comeaux reviewed the criteria that will be used to assess the tradeoffs of recommendations both with a policy and process lens. Comeaux briefed the committee members on the context and challenges of the *better buses* and *fare integration* topics as examples to test the criteria against.

Reflecting upon the proposed criteria and topics, steering committee members discussed the implementation challenges of improving the system in these two areas, the need to look at prior efforts for lessons learned as report recommendations move forward, and the equity impacts that they have on transit riders in the region.

Committee members also highlighted the importance of community education and engagement for improving bus service, governance structures that enable a nimble system to adapt to challenges, and funding opportunities coming from federal and state sources that could be leveraged.

This agenda item was discussed.

3.03 Financial Sustainability

Bill Barnes revisited the scope of the *how to pay for it* elements of the report, presented a historical analysis of transit funding and costs, and provided the committee members a review of the RTA sales tax and a menu of potential reforms of the same.

Steering committee members discussed the challenges with increasing or expanding the sales tax base, opportunities to increase cost savings and efficiencies by the service boards, and leveraging revenue solutions to influence travel behavior and make transit a more attractive choice for regional travelers.

This agenda item was discussed.

3.04 How to Implement It

Attachments: problem statements

Phillip Mark Plotch from the Eno Center for Transportation gave committee members a high-level overview of key takeaways from Eno's interviews with stakeholders.

Aimee Lee gave an overview of the draft governance problem statements co-created by the *how to implement it* discussion group incorporating feedback from the stakeholder interviews.

Steering committee members discussed the challenges with reforming existing governance structures, provided previous examples of restructuring public entities as precedent for reforms in the region, and commented on the merits of strengthening the authority of existing governing entities. The committee members also highlighted that the fiscal crisis is a unique opportunity to pursue these reforms.

This agenda item was discussed.

3.05 Next steps

Erin Aleman provided next steps in the PART project.

<u>23-1</u>50

23-152

<u>23-155</u>

23-157

4.0 Public Comment

There was no public comment.

5.0 Next Meeting: The next meeting is scheduled for May 24, 2023

6.0 Adjournment

A motion was made by Bob Reiter, seconded by Juan Carlos Linares, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:MarySue Barrett, Randy Blankenhorn, Carole Brown, Deborah Carroll, Kevin Considine,
Dan Cronin, Mark Denzler, Derek Douglas, Jacky Grimshaw, Julie Hamos, Robb Karr,
Jack Lavin, David Leopold, Juan Carlos Linares, Tom Livingston, Justin Marlowe,
Laurence Msall, David Narefsky, Jorge Perez, Doug Pryer, Bob Reiter, Roberto Requejo,
Amy Rynell, Stephen Schlickman, and Jen Walling

Absent: Darlene Hightower, and Karen Tamley

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05 a.m.